

The Colfax Public Library Board January 17, 2023

Vice President Claudia Kressin called the meeting to order at 5:31 p.m. in person.

Attendance

- Members present: Jeanne Herrick, Nancy Baumgartner, Eve Suckow, Claudia Kressin,
 Gary Stene, and Library Director Lisa Bragg-Hurlburt
- Non-members present:

Quorum: A quorum has been established.

Open meeting law: We are in certification of compliance with the open meeting law.

Approval of Agenda

Jeanne Herrick made a motion to accept the agenda. Eve Suckow seconded the motion.
 Unanimously approved by the Board.

Approval of Minutes

• Eve Suckow made a motion to approve the minutes of December 2022. Jeanne Herrick seconded the motion. Unanimously approved by the Board.

Approval of Bills

• Eve Suckow made a motion to approve the bills for December 2022. Nancy Baumgartner seconded the approval. Unanimously approved by the Board.

Director's Report

- IFLS director John Thompson copied Lisa on an email he sent to Ridgeland which included examples of branch and joint library agreements. There has been no direct contact between Ridgeland and Colfax since the Dunn County meeting in December. Nothing will happen without extensive study and discussion involving the Library and Village Boards.
- The library is still looking for a new circulation librarian.
- A new reading challenge was developed for kids ages 6-10.
- Second Grade toured the library last month. This led to a great library turnout with families after!

Monthly Reports

Village Board Representative—Gary Stene

County Board Representative — Gary Stene

School Representative — Megan Cormican

Building Remodel Group Representative—Nancy Baumgartner

• There is a total of \$122,279.86 in the Elevator Fund and \$753.71 in the Administrative Fund.

Current Business

- Due to having one too many Libaray Board members who live outside the village, a current member will need to retire. President Krista Ottinger has nominated herself to do so. Vice President Claudia Kressin will finish the term as President (ends February 2023). Elections will be held for Library Board officers.
 - o Former librarian Abbie Hartung has volunteered to be the 7th Board member. She is a village resident. Library Direction Lisa Bragg-Hurlburt will ask the Village for approval for the appointment.
- Gary Stene made a motion to keep a seven-member Library Board. Eve Suckow seconded the motion. Unanimously approved by the Board.

Next Meeting: February 21 at 5:30 P.M.

Adjourn